Banff and Jasper National Park

I had heard so many things about Banff. It’s a rich and vibrant town with a classic resort feel. The rockies tower above, leaving you feeling insignificant compared to their grandeur yet mesmerised by their beauty. I would love to experience the area in the summer, but I enjoyed myself in the fall.

img_4287
Lake Louise

I was hoping to go for a paddle whilst in the area but unfortunately a lot of the canoe clubs close at the end of summer. Instead I managed to get one hike in –

C-level Cirque Trail

The trail starts from an easily accessible car park and starts off fairly mundane through beautiful woodlands. When you reach the grey bunker like building, follow the path behind it out into a clearing. The view of Lake Minnewanka is breathtaking. Head on up and make sure you continue past the end of the trail until you reach the bowl. It’s approximately 7.5km return. There was a solid crunch of snow underfoot in October but nothing a good pair of hiking boots couldn’t handle.

Icefields Parkway

The drive from Banff to Jasper along the Icefields Parkway was so much fun. It took a couple of hours and was so spectacular. There was a touch of fresh snow and the fall colouring was a beautiful contrast to the seemingly black and white mountains. I had winter tyres on Jan at this point and I am definitely grateful. I’m sure it would have been fine otherwise, but it was definitely reassuring. I got into Jasper quite late, found somewhere to pull over and had a solid night’s sleep. I headed towards

Leave a Reply

